No-Knead Sunflower Seed Bread

It’s certainly been a lot cooler in Auckland of late which has brought me into soup season. In an effort to use up some silverbeet and pumpkin I stumbled across a hearty and healthy Pumpkin, Silverbeet, Beef and Barley Soup (the pictures don’t do it justice for how good it tastes). I have made it several times now and even Israel loves to eat it. I substitute the mince for diced beef and find that it needs a little extra liquid, but otherwise is very tasty. I made this soup one night recently and then as an afterthought I realised that I should have made some bread to go with it. Time was running out but then I remembered Annabel Langbein had a Busy People’s Bread recipe. The recipe is effectively a no-knead bread that lets the dough rise in the oven as part of the cooking time. I have renamed the bread No-Knead Sunflower Seed Bread as it helps to identify the type of bread a little easier. I would liken this type of bread to that of a Vogel’s loaf. You could get a bit more creative and vary the seeds that you use for a different taste.

No-Knead Sunflower Seed Bread

No-Knead Sunflower Seed Bread
Ingredients
2 cups of Boiling water
4t Honey
2 cups of Cold water
7t Dry yeast granules (or 5.5t of active dry yeast)
2 3/4 cups of White flour
2 3/4 cups of Wholemeal flour
3t Salt
2 cups of Sunflower seeds
4T Pumpkin Seeds
Method
Heat oven to 80°C then grease and line two loaf tins. Mix the boiling water and honey in a large bowl. Once dissolved add the cold water and yeast, setting aside for 10minutes. Whisk yeast mixture and then add remaining ingredients except pumpkin seeds. Pour half of the wet mixture into each of the tins, then sprinkle 2T of pumpkin seeds over each loaf. Score top of loaf so that it doesn’t split. Bake loaf for 20 minutes and then increase oven temperature to 210°C, and cook for 30-40 minutes. It should be hollow when you tap the top. Make sure you remove the bread from the tins right away and cool on a wire rack so that the moisture doesn’t absorb into the bread.
Recipe by Annabel Langbein

3 thoughts on “No-Knead Sunflower Seed Bread

  1. How lovely to hear that you have enjoyed my Pumpkin, Silverbeet, Beef and Barley Soup. I do have to agree with you Amy that the picture of it doesn’t do it justice. I really should get a better photo since I make it quite often. I like the idea of using diced beef instead of mince, and this sunflower seed bread you have made here looks like it would be just delicious with it. Thanks so much for sharing.

    • Thank you for the recipe, I loved it so much I have added it to my collection of favourites. I have made it a few times now (one vegetarian) and have unfortunately missed a photo of it each time myself. After looking at some of the other soup photos on your blog, if you do take another photo I bet it will look amazing!

Leave a Reply

