Strawberry Cloud Cake

Last night we invited some friends over for dinner at short notice. Occasionally we do this, by defrosting enough meat in the morning to allow for guests and then seeing if people are free on the off chance. It’s quite a fun spontaneous way to have a fun night. You never know who will end up joining you. Michael was quite keen to showcase one of his very large crayfish he got over Christmas, and some tasty Venison back steaks from his family. The only thing about a spontaneous meal is making sure you have enough fresh food to work with. I wanted to try something new for dessert and over Christmas had received an older recipe book of Annabel Langbein’s called “The Free Range Cook”. I had previously marked a whole bunch of recipes that I wanted to try and one of them happened to be a Strawberry Cloud Cake. Lucky for me I had recently purchased a few punnets of strawberries and had everything I needed to try it out. The biggest concern was that by the time I made it I would only just scrape in for the 4 hours or more freezing time, but it turned out to be just enough. I am not sure what you imagine a Strawberry Cloud Cake to taste like but it was certainly light and fluffy like a cloud might be. Our guests were also very impressed which is a bonus for such an easy recipe. I love that I can store the leftovers in the freezer for another few weeks, provided there’s anything left by then.

20140127-172114.jpg

One thought on “Strawberry Cloud Cake

Leave a Reply

