Daylight Savings BBQ

Today we lost an hour of our typical day with daylight savings. The good news is that we are now entering into longer summer hours in the evening and BBQ season, so I decided to kick start the season with a BBQ dinner tonight. Currently I have what I consider an odd herb growing in my backyard, that is called Basil-Mint. As the title suggests, it is supposed to be a combination of basil and mint flavours, but it looks more like mint. I don’t quite like it as much as traditional mint but it is growing furiously so I thought I had better find some uses for it. For our first BBQ of the season we had Lamb Chops with Coriander-Mint Sauce, grilled eggplant, green beans, mushrooms and potato. I slightly tweaked a Cilantro-Mint Sauce Recipe by Diane Rossen Worthington with the ingredients that I had on hand. It was both a great lamb marinade and dressing, which I will be using up as a dressing for a green salad tomorrow night.

20130929-225220.jpg

Coriander-Mint Sauce

1t Crushed garlic
1/4 cup of Coriander leaves
1/4 cup Basil-Mint Leaves
1/2 cup Canola Oil
1/4 cup White Wine Vinegar
1T Honey
Salt and Pepper

Blend all ingredients in a food processor. Adjust seasonings as desired.

Recipe adapted from “Seriously Simple” by Diane Rossen Worthington.

Leave a Reply

