Coffee High

It has been one of ‘those’ days. I woke up with a headache, didn’t get out of my pj’s until 1pm and felt like I was chasing my tail all evening. I am not quite sure what has brought on the headache. I used to get them a while back but since I gave up regularly drinking tea or coffee they have disappeared. I had a proper coffee on Sunday and I can’t help but wonder if that is what the headache is from. Perhaps that was too long ago considering it is Tuesday now. Anyway it is quite ironic that I then decided to make Coffee Cake with Coffee Buttercream icing. I just headed straight for the reliable Edmonds Cookbook for the Coffee Cake recipe, followed by the Coffee Buttercream segment from a different recipe. I have yet to purchase an identical cake tin so that I can easily do two tiers, so for I just did one larger tin for this cake. It all turned out well and whilst this cake is not dry if you are looking for a coffee rich or moist cake then perhaps try an alternative that may use oil instead of butter. The buttercream icing makes up for this, although as personally I am not a fan of strong coffee next time I would use less coffee or perhaps a lighter and different flavoured variation such as Jarrah. Here’s hoping it cures my headache instead of making it worse!

20130827-205424.jpg

One thought on “Coffee High

Leave a Reply

