Bursts of lemon

My oven has had a good thrashing with all the baking I have done this week. I went to a women’s coffee group today and brought a plate of food. I decided to use the lemon curd to make cupcakes. I love making mini cupcakes for shared food events as they are manageable to eat and small enough to allow you to try plenty of other food too. These are from my reliable Edmonds cookbook but the recipe is mentioned here also. In the past I have piped lemon curd into medium sized cupcakes and iced them with lemon buttercream, but for such a small cupcake I thought that might be a bit much. I took inspiration from these Lemon Curd Filled Cupcakes and scooped holes into the cupcake, dusted them with icing sugar and filled with lemon curd. You can pop the whole thing into your mouth and enjoy a refreshing burst of lemon with light fluffy vanilla cake. Delightful!

20130705-153538.jpg

Leave a Reply

