Homemade Relish

Relish doesn’t last long in our small family due to the way my husband eats it. There are so many varieties available and I have never previously wanted to go through the process of making it. That was until I recently discovered some my Mum had started making that was quick and easy. It’s not quite your traditional relish due to the inclusion of chilli. It is definitely worth making if you are a chilli fan, but if you can’t handle a bit of heat then it’s not for you. The recipe from my Mum’s friend (original source unknown sorry) is below. My relish will look quite different to the recipe below with a different taste as I didn’t have any red wine vinegar so I substituted it for Balsamic Vinegar courtesy of this substitution guide. The substitution was okay but I think I need to get some Red Wine Vinegar for my cupboard for future recipes.

Tomato and Chilli Relish

2 tsp Olive oil
1 Red onion, finely chopped
800g Chopped tomatoes (about 6 lg) or two 400g cans of chopped tomatoes with most of the juice drained off
1/2 cup Chilli sauce
1/2 cup Sugar
1/4 cup Red wine vinegar
2 tsp Salt

Saute onion in oil. Add all other ingredients and bring to the boil for a couple of minutes. Put hot mixture into 3 medium sized hot sterilised jars (you can sterilise by cooking in 100 degree celsius oven).

20130625-202041.jpg

One thought on “Homemade Relish

  1. Pingback: Gifts in a jar | Life's a hoot

Leave a Reply

