Wriggle, Rhyme and Pumpkin

Along with a few ladies and babies from my antenatal class, Israel and I went to Wriggle and Rhyme for the first time today. It is a program run by the libraries where children come along for half an hour to sing action songs. I raced in the door of a very full room only moments before it began as I was held up changing Israel’s nappy in the car after a rather large explosion while driving there… bad enough that he needed new clothes too. I guess it always pays to be early to things just in case something like that happens! Anyway I was surprised at how many people were there, but the kids seemed to enjoy the bubbles, singing and moving along. Israel spent the whole time beaming a big smile across his face!

After what ended up being a long busy day I threw together Pumpkin Soup for dinner. I love meat but we are trying to at least have one or two vegetarian dinners a week so that we are not always eating meat constantly. We are headed away for the long weekend and the big lonely pumpkin in the fridge needed using up. I hadn’t actually made pumpkin soup before, as I would usually do a big chunky vegetable minestrone soup.

Pumpkin Soup
2 Onions, chopped
1T Oil
3t Crushed Garlic
1t Cumin
2t Nutmeg
1.4kg Pumpkin (approx)
4 cups Chicken Stock
Salt and Pepper

Cook onions in oil and then add garlic, cumin and nutmeg. Mix through pumpkin and once incorporated add chicken stock. Boil until pumpkin completely soft and puree with a stick blender, then season with salt and pepper.

I ended up with 2.5L of pumpkin soup. Perfect for another cold winters night!

20130530-225429.jpg

Leave a Reply

