Juggling Acts

Dinner time is a juggling act for me. Between roughly 4.30pm – 7pm I am mostly tied to Israel, so I have to prepare dinner in all the small gaps I have. He is in bed at 7pm but I really don’t like to eat later than 7.30pm so I have to have done most of the preparation work early. The biggest help is my husband bathing Israel which gives me half an hour of rushing dinner prep. My meals of choice are mostly limited to those that can be partly prepared early or aren’t so hands on. I always feel a sense of achievement when I have made both dinner AND dessert!

Last night was one of those nights. My meals are often inspired by an ingredient that I need to use up. Last night it was mushroom and dates that needed to go, so the menu was Chicken, Bacon and Mushroom Fettuccine, followed by Sticky Date Pudding. That dessert alone reversed any of the sugar savings I had done with the muesli yesterday! The recipe was given to me and makes such a light fluffy cake. It is almost identical to this Chelsea Recipe, except the butterscotch sauce had 1 cup brown sugar, 300ml cream and 200g butter. I halved the recipe and did individual ramekins by standing them in a tray of boiling water that went half way up the ramekins and cooked for 25mins (or slightly longer depending on your oven).

Chicken, Bacon & Mushroom Fettuccine, Sticky Date Pudding

Chicken, Bacon & Mushroom Fettuccine, Sticky Date Pudding

Leave a Reply

