Eat until I’m almost as tall as you!

Israel has a bib that says “Eat until I’m almost as tall as you“. If you are referring to me then Israel will almost certainly be taller, but with a Dad that’s 198cm/6ft 6inches tall that would be quite an accomplishment. Izzy isn’t on solids yet but he sure seems to eat a lot of my milk. There’s quite a bit of responsibility as a breastfeeding Mum to get the right nutrition, but I guess that responsibility began during pregnancy. I didn’t have gestational diabetes but my level was a little high and was told to reduce my sugar intake. One of the biggest things that shocked me was the amount of sugar in breakfast cereals, so I started making my own muesli again, but tweaking my usual recipe.

It’s been nearly 17 weeks since I had Israel but I finally made my own toasted muesli today with the ingredients I had in the cupboard. I exhibited self control and toasted it but without my beloved maple syrup or honey with oil. The dried fruit alone contains a fair bit of sugar. Today’s muesli has 4 cups wholegrain oats, 1/2 cup ground LSA, 1/2 cup bran flakes, 1/2 cup coconut, 2 tablespoons sesame seeds, 3/4 cup walnuts, 1/2 cup apricots and 1/2 cup sultanas. Simply toast everything except the fruit for 10 minutes then stir, 10 minutes, then add fruit and toast a further 5 minutes. You could toast it all longer if you like it crunchier. Healthy, easy and yum! I love it with Greek yoghurt.

Toasted Muesli

Toasted Muesli

Leave a Reply

